Foam and Plastic

Mannequins

Manequins covered in fashion,
stuffed with foam and
plastic.
I try not to catch their eye
too much anymore
or they start to feel
uncomfortable.
I spoke to Audrey
just last week
we always shared a spark.
I told her I liked her dress,
that it looked good on her,
and she was going to
say something
but her friend in the winter scarf
shushed her.
I think they’ve agreed to
ignore me
since the whole ‘thing’ with the
broken
window last month.
I tried to explain but they just
stared at me
until I walked away.
I’m quite lonely
these days, but at least there’s
no one left
to bother me anymore.


© 2015, Gavin Zanker.

Photo by Manuel W. licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic.

Leave a Reply

