Writing a Novel

Freewriting

My blog has been quiet for the last month as I’ve been busy writing my first novel. I’ve also been trying to figure out what direction to take my blog in. Posting my written work seems a little counter-productive. I’m thinking I should focus on posting articles and opinion pieces instead.

Anyway, here’s my one sentence synopsis of the story if you’re curious.

Finally discovering the truth behind the disappearance of his wife many years ago, a man driven by revenge struggles to keep his humanity in a ruthless post-apocalyptic world.

It’s my first attempt at a novel and I’m enjoying the process a lot. I used the Snowflake Technique to plan out my story to begin with before knocking out the first draft in just two weeks. I’m currently editing it through a second draft. The editing is taking longer than the first draft which surprised me as I have always found editing much easier than filling the glaring, white space on a word processor.

I find myself running in to a lot of new problems and I’m figuring things out as I go. I’m been discussing some of these issues with one of my friends, a composer, who hits a lot of the same roadblocks in his line of work. Once I find time I’m thinking about posting some of these problems and the solutions we figured out.

Lately, I’ve been enjoying reading blogs that writers have used to detail their own journey through writing a book. While he isn’t very active anymore, I’ve enjoyed reading through a lot of the older posts on this blog. I find there’s a certain reassurance in knowing that the struggles I’m going through have been faced by other writers before me.


© 2015, Gavin Zanker. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

2 comments

    1. I think it came so quickly for me because I tried to embrace writing badly and just vomited words on to the paper. It would also explain why my second draft is taking so much longer – having to edit the mess in to something cohesive and readable.

      Like

Leave a Reply

