Finding the Rhythm Again

Underwood Typewriter

So far this week has been slow. Between nursing my hangover from the weekend and running errands, I’ve not managed to get much writing done. I was hoping to jump back in with both feet, like drop kicking a smug-faced traffic warden. But love, life, and a distinct lack of laughter have all prevented that.

When I take a break for more than a day or two, I often struggle to get back in to the habit of writing. When I do manage to get started again and lose myself in the flow it’s great, but when I’m thinking about sitting down to write, well, it’s at that point that my brain decides to lead a rebellion against productivity.

So as much as I wish I could Barton Fink the place up, and knock out an entire manuscript in one night, it seems that slow and steady is the rule of the week.

Barton: I’ve always found that writing comes from a great inner pain. Maybe it’s a pain that comes from a realisation that one must do something for one’s fellow man. To help somehow ease the suffering. Maybe it’s personal pain. Anyway, I don’t think good work is possible without it.

W.P. Mayhew: Well, me? I just enjoy making things up.


© 2015, Gavin Zanker. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Photo by Gary Bridgman licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported.

3 comments

  1. I know the feeling! Taking a few days off really kills the momentum for me as well.

    This may help. Granted, I have no idea if you suffer the same problem I do, but. . . Try not letting yourself go back to edit or re-read any more than you need to get your head back in it. Just keep pushing on from where you left off. Even better, don’t let anyone read any part of what you’re working on or talk about it.

    That helps me because it helps me actually sit down to write. If I don’t clutter my brain with what I’ve already written, I can just plow ahead. I think the mental process of writing new material is so different from editing old material that when you let the two get mixed up it spells trouble.

    Could just be me, but maybe it’ll help you as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Seems like a common problem with writing – I wonder if other creative industries have the same momentum shifts when taking a break.

      I agree about seperating the editing and creation of new material. They require entirely different mindsets, don’t they. My problem comes when there’s only editing left to do on my story, but all I want to do is grab a sheet of paper and run with a new idea. Sticking out an entire novel feels like running a marathon sometimes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

