Blogger Recognition Award

Blogger Recognition Award

Thanks to Mitch Goldfarb for nominating me for a Blogger Recognition Award. I appreciate him considering me when passing along this blog award, and wish him all the best with his own site. You can read about him here, but be warned you’ll inevitably feel that you’re not doing enough with your time after seeing all the works this University Professor/Tai Chi master gets up to.

The Rules

  1. Post an image of the award.
  2. Thank the person who nominated you and their blog, and link back to that blog.
  3. Explain briefly how you started your blog.
  4. Give a piece of advice to fellow bloggers.
  5. Nominate other bloggers for the award–as many as you wish, and notify them of their nomination.

Why I started my blog

I started my blog earlier this year in the hopes of driving myself forward with my writing. I initially started posting with a heavy focus on showcasing my writing, but recently I’ve started to post more opinion-focused articles and document my creation of a novel.

Advice for fellow bloggers

If I had any advice for fellow bloggers, it would be the same thing everyone has heard a thousand times – just write. Keep writing everyday, even if it’s only a sentence. Develop the habit like it’s smoking or biting your nails, eventually you’ll wonder how you coped without having the creative outlet to lose yourself in. As a bonus, after you’ve been doing it for a while you’ll probably be able to write something that doesn’t make you cringe.

My nominations

Zach writes helpful and informative posts on writing and self-publishing.

An enthusiatic writer currently documenting her journey through NaNoWriMo.

Susanna is a perceptive editor who writes from her home on the island of Martha’s Vineyard.

An intelligent writer with a keen eye for the arts.

A secularist who posts on whatever subject comes to mind, from relationships to atheism.

A humorous author currently working on his second science fiction novel.

So thanks again to Mitch for nominating me, and I hope some of you take the time to check out a few of the great blogs I nominated myself.

© 2015, Gavin Zanker. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Unknown picture.


  1. Many congratulations on the Award, Gavin. It’s interesting what you said about the focus/aim of your blog having changed since you started. I think that happens to a lot of us as we realise what WP is about and the types of posts we could do well. I started out with posts about writing, too, but now I do many different things. I generally try to keep most of them with a link to writing and history (as I write historical fiction). Your blog has got off to a good start and I’m sure it will become very successful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the kind words. It did take me a while to figure out what to focus my site on. I started posting pretty much anything that came to mind before I settled on the writing theme. I guess direction just comes with time.

      I actually wanted to put you in my nominations as well but your site was private at the time. I thought maybe you’d left WordPress or something, I didn’t realise you had run in to problems with deleting half your pictures. Bad timing I suppose. Ah well, my quiet site is still young and probably wouldn’t have drawn much attention your way anyway. Glad you got it sorted in the end.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I did appreciate your advice over the way I wrecked my site! Thank you for that, Gavin. Blogging awards are great to generate interest in your site. But the way I found the best for interacting with fellow bloggers, and gaining more followers, is by doing some of the challenges. Flash fiction writing should be ideal for you. But beware, it’s time-consuming, which is the reason I’ve stopped doing it for a while I get on with Book 3. I will be having blogging break soon, too. I should have finished the book by now.
        Thank you for thinking of me. I have another blog award post to do soon (Liebster again) so if it’s one you don’t have, I’ll be nominating you fot that one. :)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

