Choosing A Title For Your Book

Sorted Books

After a couple of months of working on my book(s), I’m still struggling to come up with a book title. Last week I forced myself to sit down with a pen and paper and hash out some important names of stuff in my books.

Initially I was going to call it something along the lines of ‘The Fielding Series,’ after the main character Aiden Fielding. However if I wanted to explore the universe from a different time or perspective in the future that choice would be quite limiting. So instead I decided it would be more logical to name the series after the country/continent where my story takes place.

‘The Calath Series.’

So unless someone is going to point out to me that the word is copyrighted as part of someone else’s work, I think I’m probably going to stick with it. It’s simple, and simple is good. I don’t want something esoteric that will put people off before they even get past the front cover.

However satisfying it is to finally put a name to my universe, I still didn’t solve the problem I initially set out to – coming up with a title for the book. I’ve read over a few articles on the subject, and there is a lot of advice out there. It seems to be almost entirely subjective though. Even a lot of popular books have terrible titles when you get past the familiarity. (Looking over Amazon Bestsellers I see a few that immediately stand out – ‘The Girl On The Train,’ and ‘The Lady In The Van’).

What do you think? Any titles that you especially like? More importantly, any that immediately make you shake your head and move on? Any helpful advice is appreciated.


© 2015, Gavin Zanker.

Photo by K W Reinsch licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic.

2 comments

  1. Some titles come easy. Other titles come hard. Probably the most improbable title I’ve come across recently is Karen Fowler’s “We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves.” It suits the novel (which is wonderful, and which won the PEN-Faulkner award in 2014), but it doesn’t tell you much about what the book is about — and it’s almost too long to fit on the cover. Your second readers might have some title ideas, or you might give them your top choices and ask which one they like best.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

