Happy Holidays

Christmas Lights

Predictably, I haven’t managed much work over the holidays. And with New Year looming, I can’t see myself finding any substantial time to write until 2016 now. My guilt is somewhat assuaged by no one else doing any work over the Christmas period, though I still can’t shut off that nagging feeling in the back of my head that tells me I should be writing.

Maybe I’ll try to snatch some writing time here and there over the next few days. And if that doesn’t help, well, I’ll try drowning the feeling in some Christmas whisky.

Happy holidays – I hope everyone is having a good one.


© 2015, Gavin Zanker. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Photo by Kevin Dooley licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic.

6 comments

  1. Everyone deserves a holiday, Gavin – even writers. But I do know how you feel. It’s the wasted writing time that sets off the guilt.
    Hope you catch up with yourself in the new year. I’m in the same boat!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, it’s difficult not to be too hard on yourself sometimes. Working all day writing carries no guarantee of success, so any time spent not working seems to lower the chances even further. . . I think I just figured out why my girlfriend calls me a pessimist.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think all (or most, at least) writers feel the same, especially when we’re starting out. We can’t guess whether anyone else will like what we write. I suppose all we can do is write the book to the best of our abilities and present it as a well edited piece, hopefully with an interesting plot, intriguing characters and fantastic dialogue! Ha ha. It’s no wonder we’re so hard on ourselves! Still, we push on and keep the words flowing. :)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t mean to rain on your holiday, but my kids are at grandma’s and I got a good day of writing in. They’ll be home tomorrow though. Then I’ll be back to getting nothing done over the holidays. Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

