Tea, Biscuits, And WordPress

Tea

Today is just a quick update on stuff in general. More for my own benefit really – it would take something of a narcissist to assume people are interested in what I’m up to.

I’m quite happy with the direction my site has taken recently. The regular posting schedule I’ve been keeping to for the last few months (every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday) is working out much better than the ‘post-whenever’ approach I was taking before. I often end up scheduling posts up to a week ahead which means I don’t have to worry about my site for a while.

As well as the general writing articles, in the last couple of weeks I’ve taken to posting some more of my own writing again. According to WordPress stats and contrary to what I assumed, my own writing is more viewed and liked than most of the other stuff I put on here. So I reckon I’ll start posting bits of my writing again, balancing it alongside the usual articles. If I get enough poetry and short prose up on here, I’ll probably turn it in to a collection and sell it for the price of a packet of biscuits (or ‘cookies,’ for you American heathens).

At the moment I’m still hard at work on my first book. And I want nothing more than to finish it and never look at it again. I’m the same with all my writing now that I think about it – once it’s completed I want to forget it exists. I wonder if others think the same way, or if it’s more common practice to revel in it, in some sort of self-masturbatory fashion.

Anyway.

I’d like to start posting some of it on here and maybe try to attract a bit of attention before I publish, but since I plan to publish on Amazon I need to check the KDP program rules before I accidentally break any conditions and ruin everything forever.

So that’s me. Like, Follow, Subscribe, Tweet, Share, Upvote, or whatever bollocks it is people do these days. Or just go have a cup of tea and a biscuit. (Yes, I said biscuit).


© 2016, Gavin Zanker. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Photo by Paul Downey licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic.

2 comments

  1. I haven’t been happy with my posting schedule for my two blogs either, mainly because I haven’t got one. They get whatever time and energy is left over after my paid work (editing), my novel in progress, and taking long walks with my dog. But I want to keep them both going. I believe a regular schedule will help. I grumble about deadlines, but they always help me focus. Thanks for the nudge.

    With my own finished work — most of it short, essays, reviews, one-act plays, a couple of stories, but also one novel — I separate from it (or it separates from me) and walk on, but at some point I look back at it from a distance and (nearly always) think, Wow, I wrote that? It’s pretty good! And at the same time I’m glad I wrote it when I did, because I couldn’t do it again. I wouldn’t try to revise or rewrite anything I finished five, ten, or twenty years ago. Picking up something I left unfinished five, ten, or twenty years ago — that’s different.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If not for the schedule tool on wordpress, I’d never be able to keep my posts regular. I often write two or three at a time and then do nothing on my site for a week. Building up that buffer takes a lot of the nagging pressure off, letting me focus on other work. Walking always seems to help me think through my work, I just never find a good enough reason to put my boots on and head out. If only my place allowed dogs. Is that a husky you have?

      It’s good that you can look back at your work and be happy with it. Hopefully when my novel has fallen from my memory, I’ll be able to look back at and feel the same. At the time of writing, you’re so close that it’s hard to get that needed perspective.

      Rewriting old finished work is something I’d never attempt either. Looking at my work from even as little as six months ago, I feel I could edit this and tweak that, improving it considerably. But no, best to leave it as it stands and keep moving forward. I can’t even imagine picking up something unfinished from years ago – I’d be so far removed from what I was trying to write I’d have no idea how to get back in touch with it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

