Print Books Vs E-Readers

Ebooks

In a recent survey of over 300 university students, 92% said they preferred a hard copy for serious reading.

An interesting statistic considering the ubiquity of e-readers these days. I would have assumed the opposite, considering the number of toddlers I see bumbling around, clumsily jabbing at their smartphones (which I still find to be an affront to humanity). I can’t remember the last time I saw someone holding an actual physical book in public.

Personally, I’ve always preferred holding a printed book rather than reading from a screen. There’s something about the weight and smell of a book that makes the act of reading so much more intimate. I thought I was just being stubbornly romantic, but it seems not.


© 2016, Gavin Zanker. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Photo by Edvvc licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic.

5 comments

  1. I’ve had my Nook for about four years now. I love it, in part because I live in a studio apartment and there is no more room for paper books. But I go back and forth regularly. Three of the books I’m reading at the moment are hardcopy. One is an ebook. I’d much rather read graphic novels and anything with serious photos and illustrations in hardcopy, though I hear that on a good-sized tablet they work OK. Two or three years ago I had to spend time at the local ER for tests. I had my Nook with me, but I had to wait so long that the charge died. That wouldn’t have happened with a paper book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I received a Nook as a gift. I’m not really into electronics (it’s embarrassing how long it takes me to text something) and I love books, so I wasn’t expecting to like reading on it. I actually love it. I still love hard copy books too. Now, my reading is divided evenly between the two. But I’d never want to give up my Nook.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. There is an unparalleled convenience with an e-reader – having an entire library at your finger tips. I love the idea, but in practice I would always choose a physical book. There’s something about the printed word that just makes reading a better experience for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Passive vs active consumption, I think. Everyone has an eReader because they just want to fill that 20 mins between changing trains where there’s no Internet, but people actively choose to sit and read a physical book. Goes some way to explaining the prevalence of eBook trash on Amazon, too…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hadn’t thought of that, it makes a lot of sense. I’d still stubbornly carry a book with me when traveling though, while I understand the convenience of an e-reader it’s not like anyone is going to be plowing through entire novels on public transport.

      Like

Leave a Reply

