Fallout Stole My Life

Fallout 4 Power Armour

Apologies for not keeping to my posting schedule this week. I bought Fallout 4 and today I woke up to find I’d lost a whole week of my life. Bad for productivity I know, but damn if it isn’t fun. I should give up computer games entirely at some point – it would free up so much more time for me to focus on my writing. That said, there is a lot I’ve learned about writing from playing games.

I’ve always enjoyed the heavy emphasis on environmental storytelling in Fallout games. The way you stumble over little scenes and have to put the pieces together yourself to figure out what unfolded. Like finding a couple of skeletons locked together in an embrace on a bed, with discarded syringes scattered around. I’d like to figure out how to incorporate more environmental storytelling in to my novel writing as I think it’s an incredibly effective method of storytelling. I should do some proper research and write an article on it at some point. (Rhianna Pratchett mentions the concept briefly in this TED talk).

Anyway, time to get back to work on my book again. Being my own boss is great for being able to take time off to pursue any interests, but the guilt. Oh the guilt.


© 2016, Gavin Zanker. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Photo by Midhras licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic.

Leave a Reply

