A Quiet Week – Gaggles And Genres

gaggle_800x200

I set my draft aside and took a break last week which mostly consisted of catching up with an old friend, drinking lots of whisky, and shooting a gaggle of bad guys. Or maybe a convocation of bad guys. I suppose army would be the most correct term, but any opportunity to insert the word gaggle in to a sentence just makes me happy.

So once I polish out some of the rougher edges, I’ll be sending my draft off to some beta readers at the end of this month. Even if they come back and tell me that the story is a car crash inside of a train wreck, the experience will have been worthwhile if only because it taught me so much. Things about the process and myself that I never would have learned without actually sitting my arse down and writing a book. Thankfully, I’ve never felt too attached to any of my finished work, so I’ll be moving on to the next project without being wounded by any responses to the book (if anyone does actually read it).

In a quiet moment the other day, I sat down to think about what genre my story falls in to because it’s changed so much from my original idea. The most condense label I could put on it was ‘post-apocalyptic revenge thriller.’ Though I don’t picture it sitting alongside the usual thriller stuff that litters airports around the world, so it was difficult to slap that tag on it. I’ll see what my beta readers tell me anyway, maybe they can give me a better idea. I’ll work on a synopsis soon too, something I skipped since I’m self-publishing and have no plans to pitch it. Also I need to start worrying about a book cover. At least I have a title now.

Forged in the Dawn, a post-apocalyptic revenge thriller.

So that’s me. If anyone missed my wittering then apologies for going dark over the last week, you can expect regular posting again from now on.


Photo by Anne Worner licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic.

Leave a Reply

