Editing, Editing, And More Editing

editing_800x200

The title says it all really. Every day I turn off any distractions, sit myself down, and edit a chapter at a time, crossing it off the list on my whiteboard as I finish. Then I let out a deep sigh at the sight of still so many left to work through.

So in light of my editing blues, I’ve decided to try some carrot on top of the ever present stick of ‘if-I-don’t-get-this-done-I’ll-need-to-go-back-to-a-job-that-makes-me-want-to-drink-bleach-through-a-straw.’ For every chapter I finish editing, I have a little play on Rocket League. It’s a fun game, easy to pick up for casual play unlike the world-spanning RPGs and complex sandboxes I usually stick to. Time will tell if it helps my productivity or saps it away though.

I’m not sure how I got this way really, I used to enjoy editing more than writing when I was younger. I suppose being immersed all day every day in something will sap the fun out anything. I can only imagine how sick of chocolate Willy Wonka was. It’s no wonder he wanted to give his factory away.

So if you have any editing tips let me know. I’m probably just having a bad week, but it’d be nice to somehow convince my brain to start enjoying it again.


Photo by Benjamin Solah licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic.

Leave a Reply

