Forged In The Dawn Launch Date

After doing a little research, it seems that launches are how you release a book. So after a bit of thought, here’s how I figure I’ll go about things.

Book Launch

Forged in the Dawn will release on the Amazon Kindle store next month on July 22nd.

I have no intention of spamming shameless emails, forcing irritating pop-ups, or any of those shenanigans that I see so many authors employ. Instead, my plan is to post here regularly over the next four weeks leading up to the release date, mostly about the general writing part (mistakes I made, things I learned etc) as well as telling you a bit about the book. With any luck, I might be able to interest a few people in the process.

The Cover

I spent a couple of days last week using GIMP to create a somewhat minimalist cover for my book and thought I’d show off the result before I commit to the final version. This is a reduced size version of the 1562×2500 original. I chose a height/width ratio of 1.6 and a long side of 2500 pixels based on Kindle’s recommendations.

forged_in_the_dawn_cover_800x1280

I’m not a graphic designer by any stretch of the imagination, so any comments/criticisms are welcomed.

So that’s my plan. In my next post, I’ll put up a blurb and genre and all that to give you some idea of what the story is actually about (hopefully the cover conveys that it’s not supernatural romance). Thanks for reading, if you have any interest I hope you stick your head in from time to time over the next few weeks.


Photo Copyright © 2016 Gavin Zanker

Leave a Reply

