July Writing Music

Headphones on Book

Music helps put me in the right mindset while writing, and I’m sure I’m not alone in finding a little background noise helps boost concentration. A while ago, I wrote about the type of music I prefer to listen to while writing – generally either upbeat/energetic for when I’m cranking out words, or electronic/relaxed for late night editing.

Music taste is very subjective, but it’s such a huge, invisible force that influences my writing that I thought I’d share some of the music I listened to recently while writing my book. I put in a youtube link for each track, so feel free to have a poke around and maybe you’ll discover something new that catches your fancy.

Tracks to Make Your Fingers Move

  1. MOVITS! – Fel Del Av Gården
  2. Goldfish – Get Busy Living
  3. Radiohead – Burn The Witch
  4. Caravan Palace – Lone Digger
  5. Ludique – The Professor
  6. Atoms For Peace – Default
  7. Pogo – Alice
  8. Penguin Cafe Orchestra – Perpetuum Mobile

Focus and Frisson

  1. Parov Stelar – Psychadelic Jazz
  2. Foals – Spanish Sahara
  3. Other Lives – For 12
  4. Kaiben – The Road
  5. Flight Facilities – Clair De Lune feat. Christine Hoberg
  6. Ludovico Einaudi – The Tower
  7. Brian Eno – An Ending
  8. The Cinematic Orchestra – To Build A Home

Photo by jeff_golden licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

