Plans For The Future

Fireworks New Year

My novel has finally been released – unleash the army of puppies and cue champagne falling from the heavens! (I’m not usually one to bandy around exclamation points, but I think I’ve earned that particular one). If you have any interest in post-apocalyptic fiction, or are looking for a story that explores some darker themes such as revenge and betrayal, then I hope you take a moment to check it out.

So what’s next? Well I don’t plan on putting any more effort in to marketing the book, for reasons I explained a couple weeks ago, so the plan is to jump straight in to the next novel.

I wrote Forged in the Dawn as a standalone novel with sequel potential, and I already have a solid idea of how I’d like to continue Aiden’s story. In fact, I already handwrote a first draft of the next book all the way back in November last year during National Novel Writing Month. Now I’ve knocked my first book out and climbed over that mountain, I can’t wait to get stuck in to the next one. Being able to avoid the frustrating mistakes I made the first time, I expect I’ll find writing a novel even more enjoyable this time around.

I still plan to keep posting on my blog too, so you can expect more of the same here, though maybe not quite as often as I have been this last month. I might scale down to one or two posts a week as I’d like to focus most of my energy back on to writing for a while.

In the meantime, here’s a prophetic quote knocking around my head from The Martian, by Andy Weir, which I’m currently reading and can’t recommend enough.

“I guess you could call it a “failure”, but I prefer the term “learning experience”.”


Photo by Sean MacEntee licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic.

Leave a Reply

