Neil Gaiman’s Journal: On Writing

neil_gaiman_800x200

I came across this old piece of advice from Neil Gaiman (Stardust, American Gods) on becoming a writer and thought it worth sharing.

http://journal.neilgaiman.com/2004/02/on-writing.asp

I think for me the tipping point was when I was a very young man. It was late at night, and I was lying in bed, and I thought, as I often thought, “I could be a writer. It’s what I want to be. I think it’s what I am.” And then I imagined myself in my eighties, possibly even on my deathbed, thinking that same thought, in a life when I’d never written anything. And I’d be an old man, with my life behind me, still telling myself I was really a writer — and I would never know if I was kidding myself or not.

It’s like he climbed up inside my brain and shined a flashlight on the damp squidgy corner where my intrinsic motivation collects.


Photo by OnceAndFutureLaura licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic.

5 comments

  1. Fantastic quote. Thank you.
    People always ask if I’m published. Like until I sell a million copies of my book, I’m not a writer, I’m something else.
    I’m a writer, and it’s not my fault.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sounds like an introduction at a support group doesn’t it? It’s pretty simple in my eyes – if you write, then you’re a writer.

      Glad I could interject a bit of Neil Gaiman into your life anyway. Have fun with your writing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

