Free Book Weekend, Writing Excuses, And A Conversation With Neil Gaiman

Free Book Weekend

forged_in_the_dawn_cover_1562_2500If you follow my blog, you’ll know that I recently released my first book Forged in the Dawn. At this point you’ll also probably be tired of hearing me banging on about it all the time – I know I am. So we can all be glad to hear that I’m past the marketing phase now, and don’t plan to continue shamelessly plugging it everywhere.

Over the weekend, I set the price to free on the Kindle store in the hopes of encouraging a few more people to give it a read. The response smashed my expectations – I never dared to hope my work would reach the hands of so many people. Every time I opened the Kindle report to see the download graph ticking up, it put a big grin on my face. So a big thanks to everyone who took the time to grab themselves a copy. You made my weekend.

Writing Excuses

I recently discovered Writing Excuses, a weekly podcast with Brandon Sanderson, Howard Taylor, and Dan Wells. Mary Robinette Kowal is also listed as a host but since I’m starting from episode one, she hasn’t made an appearance yet. It’s described as ‘a fast-paced, educational podcast for writers, by writers.’ Honestly, I’m kind of annoyed at myself for not having discovered it earlier (the first episode started way back in 2008). It’s funny, informative, and covers just about every subject you can think of related to the craft of writing in just fifteen minutes per episode. Give it a chance, you won’t be disappointed.

Here’s a direct link to the .mp3 of episode one for those with impossibly tired fingers.

 

(Incidentally, I thanked Brandon on twitter a few days ago for his free writing lectures, and he actually replied. Probably nothing new to the social media generation, but I was impressed he took the time to reply directly, and have since developed even more respect for the guy.)

A Conversation with Neil Gaiman

I came across this video on YouTube last week and watched the entire thing from start to finish. Hilarious and heartfelt, it’s well worth watching for the fantastic storytelling from Neil Gaiman, as well as him reading from Good Omens which he co-wrote with Terry Pratchett. It does get a little heavy at one point as they discuss Terry Pratchett’s death, so if his writing meant anything to you then be prepared for some feels.

(As a side note, I found it refreshing to hear people discuss trigger warnings and safe spaces in a calm and logical manner, unlike Uni campuses where it’s all shouting, deliberate provocation, and protesters sounding bullhorns in the background to shut down speakers.)

So that was my week. Now I’m finished with Forged in the Dawn, I’m free to focus all my energy on writing the next book, on which I already made a decent, if somewhat slow start, having written 10k words on the first draft. I expect the speed to pick up now though, and plan to finish before the end of the year.

Have a peaceful week, and enjoy the running and jumping if that’s your thing.


Forged in the Dawn Copyright © 2016 Gavin Zanker

Leave a Reply

