Site Updates – Free Writing And Current Projects

Coffee and Pen

This week I updated my site with a few changes in the hopes of making it simpler to navigate and appear a bit more professional. In short, you can now find my improved free writing and new current projects pages on the menu bar above.

Free Writing

Instead of having to search my free writing by category, you can now find the collected links (with thumbnails) to all my short stories, poetry, and flash fiction on a single page. So if you have a spare minute, please feel free to check out some of my work. (A few of my favourite pieces are Malacai, Second Showing, and the collection of haiku).

Poetry is one of the most popular things I post here, which always surprises me. In fact I didn’t realise how much of it I’d posted until I was collecting all of the links together – there’s probably even enough for me to consider publishing a poetry collection on Kindle at some point. Poetry is notorious for not earning any money though, even for established authors, so it would be more for personal satisfaction than anything. If you’ve had any success or failure with publishing poetry, let me know in the comments as I’d be interested to hear about it.

Current Projects

I’m also experimenting with adding a new current projects page which shows what I’m working on. I’ve briefly outlined what areas I’m focusing on during each draft/stage my current project(s), and there are progress bars so you can see how far along I am for each stage.

I also added a progress bar the sidebar, but it looks kinda awkward in my opinion so it may not stay there for long. Besides, the sidebar doesn’t even show up on tablets/mobile, so I doubt most people even see the thing.

I’m currently working on Solace Within (working title), the sequel to my first novel, so if you’re interested you can check out the details. I already keep all of this information on a word document for myself, but I figured making a condensed public version might be interesting for some readers, or even other writers who are curious about my process. It’s not a huge amount of effort to keep updated, and if it keeps even one interested reader up-to-date then I figure it’s worth the time.


Photo by trophygeek licensed under CC BY 2.0.

2 comments

    1. Thanks, that’s what I was going for so glad you like it.

      I know what you mean about progress bars – who doesn’t love them? Hence me trying to stick them everywhere. I’ll keep one in the sidebar for a while at least, see how it works out. Appreciate the input.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

